Best viewed using IE in 1024 x 768
The current mood of MUsickness@hotmail.com at
www.imood.com

Descartes is up there with Plato
11.15.02 @ 12:08

Diaryring of the Day:
Now Playing: Nights in White Satin (I'm at work.)

OK, so I didn't update as I promised yesterday. Honestly, I don't know what happened. Oh wait yes I do, Chem lab, that's right. It was the first actual lab that we had to do, no more "look at something and tell me the structure." God was that stuff easy. No this was prepare an apparatus, use syringes because water can't get in the apparatus for it will react with the bromide. The worst part was sitting there for a half hour between each part waiting, allowing the solution to mix. Either that or the fact that you know that you'll get little to no product.

Ok so I really hate Descartes. The man makes no sense to me. I understand that doubting everything so that you can get to truth, but to contradict definitions? Here's an example:
"Moreover, although my knowledge may always increase more and more, nevertheless I understand that this knowledge will never by this means be actually infinite, because it will never reach a point where it is incapable of greater increase." (This is from the Third meditation in Meditations on First Philosophy)
From Dictionary.com the first two definitions of infinite are:
1. Having no boundaries or limits.

2. Immeasurably great or large; boundless

So according to Descartes it seems that knowledge can not be infinite because 1. it continues to increase 2. there is no point at which knowledge will no longer be capapble of increase
Even if you look into the idea that humans are finite, knowledge would still technically be infinite because the human intellect can only understand so much, but there is still more out there to understand.
Am I the only one finding fault with this? Does everyone else just skip over this sentence assuming it to be trivial?

There's more to Descartes that I don't like and I haven't even looked at Mediations four through six.

I hope Confucious ( I know I fucked that up) and Nietzsche will be more fun. Actually I know Nietzsche will be. Twilight of the Idols: Or, How to Philosophize with the Hammer Now doesn't that sound like fun? Plus he rips Socrates a new one. "Socrates belonged by origin to the lowest folk.." Although he does give some credit to Socrates, Nietzsche is a man after my own heart. That will be some interesting reading. Maybe I'll start now......

<<< || >>>

< # Online Diaries ? >

Visitors:



Current
Archives
Bio
Rings
Reads
Quotes
Lyrics
my photos
The Playlist
Cliques, Reviews
Quizzes
Surveys
Notes
Clix Me
Guestbook
AIM message me
Adapted from
Blend Creator
Diaryland
A Thought: